Ecoboost Owner Forums

Engine Oil Weight

I was looking at the thread below and noticed 5w20 on a couple of the oil caps and one with 5w30. This made me curious so I looked at mine and it is 5w30 as well. When did Ford change the suggested oil weights and why? I did a search and didn't see anything specific on the subject so I thought it would be interesting to see if anyone else had noticed before.

http://www.ecoboostownerforums.com/showthread.php?602-MKS-Engine-Dress-Up-%28inexpensive-mod%29

• Replies 79
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It was changed for 2012, both the 10 & 11 models say 5w-20. I have been using 5w-20 for well over 10 years now, and I had some concerns, but since it was the recommended weight, I used it. I have experienced no oil related problems using 5w-20 in any of my vehicles, so I am more comfortable with it now. But if you car recommends 5w-30 that is what I would use. Using recommended weight oil seems to be the best way to avoid any warranty concerns. However, some people here have been using 5w-30 in their cars (10 & 11) and have not had any problems. As too why Ford changed the recommended weight, I don't believe that we have ever got a definitive answer to that question.

I have a 2011 and my cap says 5w-30. My dealer puts 5w-20 in it as they do with all Ecoboost engines. I ask why use a lower oil than what the cap says and he says that it allows the turbos to spin at a higher velocity and stay cooler since there isnt as much weight they are having to spin. I believe it has something to do with the introduction of the F-150 and their higher torque their ecoboost produces. I don't know how much bullshit he is feeding me but I have records of all my oil changes at ford (only have had the dealer change my oil) and if it messes stuff up then ford will be paying for it. Im that guy.