Ecoboost Owner Forums

2013 Taurus SHO with PP - Summer Tire Question

Greetings. I am considering a 2013 Taurus SHO and really want to add the Performance Package, but really don't want to deal with the hassle of swapping summer/winter tires twice a year - I did that for years with a BMW 550, and vowed to never do it again! Are there any New Jersey (or close by) residents that have the Performance Package with the Summer tires who DO NOT bother with Winter or All Season tires during the Winter months? I am tempted to just say 'screw it' and get the Performance Package and drive on the Summer Tires all year around - especially since New Jersey does not really have the worst Winters - but would really like to hear from folks who have actually successfully done this (i.e. to make me feel better) or unsuccessfully done this (i.e. to make me think twice). Thanks very much!

I have no experience with this but based on comments made on other sites and from friends in the Minneapolis area, I do not think you want to run summer tires in the winter if you plan to drive it when it is cold or you have snow. Here is a quote from tire rack:

Eagle F1 Supercar tires are designed to emphasize dry road traction and handling. Like all summer tires, they are not intended to be driven in near-freezing temperatures, through snow or on ice.

I will certainly defer to those who have done it (either successfully or unsuccessfully) but I don't think it is the greatest idea.

My 2013 w/PP is 3 weeks old today. I live in Michigan and we got hit with Nemo before it hit the east coast, it was far less powerful, but we received about 9 inches where I am. This is very normal for us, adequate plows, etc.

I will say that with all wheel drive, I expected much more from this car. It is my feeling that my poor experience is due to the F1 supercar tires. I have been "4 wheeling" and plowing snow for darn near 25 years and even though this isn't a truck the principle is the same.