Ecoboost Owner Forums

Race oil for turbo cars, zinc, cats, etc.

Paulford8

I have some local racers claiming you need brad penn race oil or something similar to get most out of any turbo car. Brad Penn is basically race car oil and their race version has zinc. They also make a version for "street cars" that says it is OK for cats with no zinc.

Anybody have any knowledge or experience with this? Dangerous for stock cats and highflow cats? I have seen guys claim they have used the regular zinc race oil for years on catted cars without plugging the cats. That said I have no personal experience.

I am probably still going Royal Purple next time around. RP also makes a "race" version which I am assuming has zinc as well. I am planning on sticking with the "street" oil for now, just curious as mentioned.

Read a lot last night and this morning. Race oil and synthetic = to much information... That said I found a few tests pointing toward Amsoil providing best race and street wear protection. RP was in the middle on some tests I looked at, and 2nd to Amsoil on a few. Did find a race oil wear test that went Amsoil, Joe Gibbs, Brad Penn 1,2,3.

I am going to email RP and Amsoil about their race oil. Specifically how much if any zinc is in them and if they are safe for cats.

Like I said probably not changing just trying to gather information.

PLEASE don't waste your money on the higher zinc based race oils. Especially if you're going to continue using cat. converters! The reason for the higher levels of ZDDP in the race oils and others, like Brad Penn (which is what I run in my Grand Nationals) is because the added protection needed in the types of motors that are mostly prowling the drag strips. Most/many are, like mine, still running flat tappet cams, not rollerized cams. The flat tappet cams need the higher levels of ZDDP (zinc/phosphorus) to keep the cams from going flat.