Ecoboost Owner Forums

removing swirl marks

I picked up a new '13 SHO. It has been on the dealers lot since December, and had obviously gone through a few dealer lot washes. It is white, but in the direct sun you can see a lot of swirl marks in the clear.

I've been reading up and watching videos on the net. The Adams stuff seems pretty good. I've been watching their videos on getting the marks out by polishing with the Flex and Porter Cable. I've also seen the Meguiar's DA system.

Can I go wrong with either one? Can I screw up my paint and take off too much clear with either Adam's or Meguiar's? I have no experience in polishing, should I just leave it to a professional if I can find one I can trust? I'm inclined to try it myself, as I'm not sure I trust anybody else. I am definitely not going to have the dealer "fix" it.

Thanks for the help.

I've never had great success with Meguiar's stuff when it comes to swirl remover. If you are using Adam's I would start with the clay bar, follow that with Revive (which is more of a cleaner then a polish). Those steps will left a really clean surface to use the Swirl & Haze Remover, and follow that up with the Fine Machine Polish. I would say once you go over the swirls with the S&HR give the finish a good look to make sure you've got them removed, if some remain, go over those spots again. If you have some fairly heavy duty swirls you might want to start with Severe Swirl Remover first. Just FYI, I always use Revive to remove the residue left after using the clay bar. Adam himself was the one who taught me that trick.

I had a similar problem, but they were scratches from some idiot using a broom to push snow off the cars. The hood, trunk and the black plastic on the on the doors was bad. I was going to take it back to the dealer, but decided to