Ecoboost Owner Forums

Gas mileage going down as temps go down?

During summer and fall my avg was around 23mpg. Now with winter finally showing up here (at least in temps) I've noticed my gas mileage drops the colder it gets. I'm down to 16mpg avg now with temps at 0F or colder. I called two Ford dealerships around my area and was told "That's normal." If that's true, this will be my first car ever that's had a drop in mileage during winter.

It is true and you can add me to the list of owners experiencing the same issue(s).

Some of it's due to Winter fuel blends, some of it's due to the cold temp(s) providing denser air, which in turn makes the turbos work a lil harder to push that denser air around.

It happens.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2

First, I bet it's not the first car that has gotten less mileage with the winter blend, because I've been keeping fuel mileage records since 1998 and every vehicle that I've keep records on experiences less mileage with winter blend fuel...just the nature of the beast.