Ecoboost Owner Forums

Want to tune my SHO.

mac99br

Hi guys Just want to start off by saying this is by far the best SHO/ECOBOOST forum out there.Ok so I want to get my car tuned dont know much about it.I heard the livernois tune is a good but i have no idea what a sct or a mycal is, all i know it is the device to load the mapsI seen some pics some people mount it on there window sorry I'm a noob at this.:rolleyes: I know there is stage 1-5. What would be the best stage for my car and is it easy to install and what would i need.I could use any information you can give thank you in advance.Also has anyone ran into any problems with the tunes [h=2][/h]

I would highly recommend Livernois and definately the MyCal tuning device. If you want to keep it simple, all you really need is the stage 4+ in both 91 and 93 octane versions. I assume you can get 93 where you live but you might want the 91 octane version if you travel to an area where 93 is not available.

If you want to go a bit further, you can also get the new more aggressive 4X tune. That will require a 3 Bar map sensor and a cooler thermostat - about $55 for the sensor and $65 for the thermostat. You can also get the 4+ tune set up for the 3 bar map sensor. SP534 spark plugs gapped at .030 is recommended for all the tunes. I don't know how many miles are on your SHO, but if you are over 40,000, you should get new plugs, anyway. I would recommend going for the 4X and the other required mods.

Once you get the tuner with the tunes, you just hook up to the OBD port under the steering wheel and follow the prompts - takes about 5-10 minutes and you have a much different car. Most of us have been tuned for quite some time and wouldn't think of going back to stock, except for dealer visits.

This is a brief overview. Go to Livernois' website or call them for more details. Others will also chime in here.

Guest Guest