Ecoboost Owner Forums

Infrequent stumbling at low speeds / leaving traffic lights

Ok, I am STILL wrestling with this one and am hoping theres some new faces here that might have seen this. Mines a 2010 with now 37,000 miles (had 14,000 when I bought it). Ever since I bought the car, about 2-3 times per month, it will just start stumbling badly either leaving a light at an intersection or in stop and go traffic (low speeds). I go to hit the gas (normal driving, not racing) and it starts shaking and stumbling like its firing on 3 cylinders or something. Its not the engine. I can throw the car down into 'M' and it stops immediately. Put it back into auto and the problem is gone. I have had the TSB done for replacing some sort of 'body' in the tranny (sorry I am not a car mechanic :-). They have also done the spark plug TSB and reflashed to the latest tune. Problem is, its infrequent, so it wont do it when they try to find it. I REALLY am ready to order LMS tuner and tunes, but I would like to see this problem gone before I modify the tune on this car. Anybody else seen this?

I've seen this from time to time. Honestly, when I'm in the set up you are in with it I find smooth applications of the throttle and there is no problem. It's almost like if I get forceful with the throttle (not flooring it mind you) it seems like the tranny "bites" harder to get ready to go. I might not be making any sense but as long as I'm smooth on the throttle I have no bumps. My car is tuned and it still happens sparsely when I get forceful with the throttle in low speeds like you describe.

From a stop to WOT there is no problems. It is only when low speeds.